top of page
  • msturgill05

Confusion

This week's blog post will be about what I want to do in the future, which I guess makes sense with fall registration next week (so exciting).

me making my future career a future me problem


In an ideal world, I'd work in the TV/film industry. I'm not sure if I'd want to direct or produce, but I know I'd enjoy screenwriting or editing. I'd like writing shows more than editing them though, since it's a lot of sitting and rewatching the same thing a million times. I don't mind editing but I don't think I'd have the patience to do it for a real movie. On the other hand, I think my desire to pursue screenwriting might be a control thing. If it's my own story I'm the one who gets to choose how it plays out. I can't get mad at writers messing up character arcs or screwing up major plot points if I'm the one writing, at least then it's my own fault.


At one point I was relatively vocal about my movie opinions on Tik Tok, nothing that would come back to bite me, but it's out there. Despite that, employers might not want to hire someone who has strong opinions on things they've worked on. Though I don't think expressing your opinions is a bad thing as long as you're respectful and know when to pull back.


As much as I'd like for that to happen, I don' think it will. Not because I don't want it to, but because I should've gone to school for it... but why I didn't is a different story. Realistically, I'll probably try to do something with social media... or whither away with a mind-numbing office job... but at least I'll make money. I like baking so if nothing else I'll have time and money to do that more often. I've really wanted to bake bread recently but I don't have the time. That's not important to this post, I just wanted to share.


Obviously getting a job in social media would require me to be conscious of what I'm posting now. I wouldn't want my accounts to set a bad example of who I am and what I'm capable of. With a random office job, I think I'd be okay. I don't post much and nothing I have up would get me in trouble.


That was kinda sad... anyway... I hope everyone has a good day :)

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page