top of page
  • msturgill05

SPARC Festival

Welcome back! This week was filled with SPARC presentations, so I'm going to talk about the presentations I went to.


The first presentation I attended was the Panel Presentation on Gender and Stereotypes. This presentation talked about the stereotypes surrounding fatherhood, as well as the stereotypes men and women faced surrounding mental health. I liked hearing about the fathers interviewed for the parental stereotype portion of the presentation. I was glad to hear there are fathers out there who took what they learned from their childhood and tried to improve on it rather than creating an endless cycle of bad parenting. Obviously there are still more steps that can be taken to break common parental stereotypes, but I'm thankful there are people already moving in that direction.


me trying to be supportive and pay attention to my friends' presentations


Since the Gender and Stereotypes presentation was for the Gender and Communication class, I started thinking about what I would want to present on if I took that class. I would want to learn more about the misdiagnoses in men versus women or how ADHD in women is often overlooked, but I don't think I know enough people who would be willing to be interviewed on this subject.


The next presentation I attended was on attachment styles in the show New Girl (which I love). Cara did a great job with her analysis on the attitudes and relationships between the characters in season 1. I would've loved to hear more about how their attachment styles shift throughout the whole show, but I felt bad asking since she only focused on season 1. My friends and I were sitting through the presentation figuring out who relates most to you, so needless to say, we were all feeling a little called out (in a good way of course). For me, I relate the most to Nick Miller, so hearing about his anxious attachment style and relating it back to my own life was kind of funny.


The semester is (finally) coming to a close so next week will be my last post! I hope everyone has a great weekend :)



2 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Inner Pieces

123-456-7890

info@mysite.com

© 2023 by Inner Pieces.

Proudly created with Wix.com

Contact

Ask me anything

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page