top of page
  • msturgill05

Online You ≠ Real You

Unfortunately for me, this week's blog post will not be about Marvel, but I guess that's a good thing for anyone reading this. I'm feeling some type of way this week, so today's post will answer straight from the prompt.

My brother from ~12 years ago accurately describes how we all look scrolling on social media... and my mood for the week


I think being true to yourself is extremely important for the online culture we've cultivated today. Many people today alter their personalities or appearances online to fit in, get likes, or make more people like them. This leads to comparison and an all around negative time online. By being authentic online, you're actively working to make online social spaces a more positive place. Now that doesn't mean overshare or spam pictures of your wild night out, but by being true to yourself, you're chipping away at the idea that people need to present the ideal version's of themselves online.


I have not considered the importance of a personal brand representing both my online and offline selves because I don't think I present myself differently online. What you see is what you get with me, online wise, especially since I don't really post. If anything, I think I'm more likely to alter my personality in person based on the situation I'm in. I get why that would be important though, that way you're not lying to yourself or anyone else about who you are as an individual. Everyone is on the same page.


The idea that online reputation is an individual's most valued possession is not a bad one, but I'm inclined to disagree. I understand the argument behind it, before meeting you people will look you up and judge you, so by being aware of your online reputation, you're able to make sure people are presented with a positive view of you. However, I think that saying online reputation is someone's most valued possession is a bit much. Yes the internet is a big part of our lives, but that doesn't mean it should be our top priority at all times. Saying that online reputation is an individual's most valued possession perpetuates the idea that being active online should be at the forefront of our lives, and that's not good. That's not to say that online reputation isn't important, it is. You don't want negative things online about you that could prevent you from getting a job, but my problem is with social media running our lives. Unfortunately, that's not an easy issue to solve.


That's all I've got. Bye :)



2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page