top of page
  • msturgill05

Halfway Point

I can't believe we're already halfway through the semester! Time has simultaneously flown by and stood still it doesn't make sense to me. This picture of Anthony Mackie on the set of The Falcon and the Winter Soldier accurately represents how I've felt the first half of this semester. Especially since he's in a big coat next to a heater; I'm tired of the spring teases, Maryland weather needs to make up its mind!



I think the most interesting concept to me so far has been online disinhibition, which refers to the lack of a filter people have when communicating online. I knew people altered who they were and how they acted online since they could hide behind a screen, but I didn't know there was a term for it and it was interesting to learn more about the specifics of it. I think Yik Yak is a great example of online disinhibition because there are so many people on there who complain about others and I highly doubt they do anything about it in real life.


I have to be honest, most of what we have learned so far has been boring but I think that's because the guest lectures are in the forefront of my mind right now. I barely remember what they talked about but I know I didn't find the concepts discussed that interesting. However, this is also my own fault because I have a difficult time staying focused in class (sorry Dr. K). I think I'd be interested in learning more about how businesses successfully use social media... but then again who knows. I might just be saying that because I think the Duolingo tik toks are super funny.


I think it's important to keep concepts like online disinhibition in mind when reading comments because scrolling through all the toxicity can be tiring, but reminding yourself that people are only saying these things because no one knows it's them may ease your mind. I also think it's important to keep in mind that people on apps like Instagram are only showing their highlight reels. Comparing yourself against a highlight reel is so draining and not worth the time... which is something I need to work on not doing.


That's all for this week. I hope everyone has a good night's sleep.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page