top of page
  • msturgill05

Dealer's Choice

I'm strongly disliking my classes this week and I need a break from thinking about them, so this week I'll be talking (more like word vomiting) about Dr. Strange and the Multiverse of Madness.

real photo of me in 2019 when WandaVision and M.o.M were announced


When this movie was first announced way back in 2019, I remember being so excited for it. They were promoting it as a darker, horror movie which was brand new for Disney's Marvel, so needless to say, I was thrilled. But after the mess of WandaVision and Loki, and endless reports of delays and reshoots... I'm more worried about the state of the movie than excited.


Sam Raimi is the director for M.o.M with Michael Waldron as head writer for the script, both of whom have made some interesting creative decisions for Marvel in the past. Raimi directed Tobey Maguire's Spider-Man trilogy, where all three movies suffered from the same problem: character overload. Why people think M.o.M won't suffer from the same fate is beyond me. Not to mention the amount of rumored cameos that came about after the popularity of Spider-Man: No Way Home. A cameo here or there from the likes of Sir Patrick Stewart or Ryan Reynolds are no issue, but based on the rumors I've seen, they want M.o.M to be bigger than NWH and Avengers: Endgame. Then there's the issue of Michael Waldron who wrote Loki into the ground. Maybe I'm biased since I grew up loving the character, but that show did him dirty. Michael Waldron didn't watch Avengers until two months before the show came out, how do we as a fandom have any faith that he'll do justice to the characters in M.o.M?!


One of the main things I've wanted to see happen is the reveal that Wanda Maximoff is a mutant and Magneto is her real father. When Wanda was first introduced, they were limited on where they could go with her since Fox owned the rights for the X-Men and in turn mutants, but it wouldn't have been hard to fix that for WandaVision. By the time WandaVision was in pre-production, Disney would've owned the rights. They could have said the mind stone amplified Wanda's powers rather than her getting her powers from the stone. They even hinted at it with the bomb not going off in the flashback but the closer we get to Multiverse of Madness, the more it looks like this won't happen. Granted M.o.M isn't about Wanda, but there's still a slim chance they go this route. Though, I'm not sure if I trust Waldron or Raimi to do a "Dadneto" reveal justice. I think I've run through so many possibilities in my head on how they could do it that nothing will be good enough. I could write a blog post on that alone.


Wow that was a lot of complaining. I could keep going but I'll spare you. See you all next week with a non-Marvel related topic! :)

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page